Musings on Mormonism



Halloween trends reflect poorly on the state of society

Today, I was talking with our office’s front desk security guard, and he remarked how parents are increasingly taking their children to private Halloween parties rather than go out trick-or-treating as a matter of safety. My immediate thought was “How sad is that? Our society is such that people have to hold their own isolated parties just to keep their kids safe on Halloween.” This was just one more reminder of 1) the perils of the latter-days, where dangerous weirdos (I don’t mean this facetiously, but can’t think of a better word) threaten the safety of children and 2) the need for good, upstanding, friendly neighbors. We, as Latter-day Saints, or as honorable, principled, citizens, ought to strive to be those neighbors! Also, I can’t help but think that the ever-intensifying push for more rights somehow encourages the lack of restraint which I believe leads to the cankering and polluting of human souls and the coarsening of society. I don’t consider myself a political conservative per se, but I do think that our society, blinded by the drama and glitter of “progressivism”, is a little too eager to throw away old values, and then are surprised when it’s not safe to take their kids out any more. I realize I am dealing in vague generalities here, and that I have not exactly made a slam-dunk argument linking expansion of individual rights and the erosion of cultural values to increased sociopathy (although I know that many have tried to do just that – which I applaud and am always interested to hear about), but it is my gut feeling. Although I’d have a hard time convincing anyone based on a gut feeling, for me, at least, it is an epistemology I have grown to trust. Perhaps when I run into some more convincing evidence, I will post on this subject again.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kristin says:

    OK, as usual you like big words, but we’ve noticed and lamented the same trend. We’re just hoping that trick-or-treating will hang on at least a few more years for Nora’s sake before it fizzles out completely.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Tiffany says:

    This is why there will always be the ward “Trunk-or-Treat!” And I heard about those huge humanist advertisements in your city over there (“why believe in a god? Why not be good for goodness’ sake?” with a satirical portrayal of a secular Santa Claus). That’s a topic for a different post, I suppose, but I’m interested to hear your gut’s explanation for this manifestation of social deterioration, as well.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

