Musings on Mormonism



The Dark Knight: A+ Awesomeness!

(semi-spoiler alert)

Director Christopher Nolan, as far as I can tell, doesn’t make bad movies (Memento, Insomnia, The Prestige, and Batman Begins are among his accomplishments). Dark, brooding, dense, challenging, brilliant movies – yeah, he makes those, and The Dark Knight is no exception. I don’t remember exactly my initial impression of Batman Begins, other than that I liked it a lot. Well, this most recent movie made an impression on me, and it was this: gee, Batman’s world sure is a dark and depressing place, yet so interesting! This movie was by no means a pick-me-up. It was gritty and intense. Quite a few people died. It had a menacing, often violent (albeit sometimes morbidly funny) villain. It had strained and crushed ideals, disturbing ethical dilemmas, and some tragic character outcomes. And let’s face it – that was not a happy ending! But you know, those were the same things which made this such an engrossing, interesting and therefore, in my book at least, excellent movie. Nolan sure knows how to raise the bar on good filmmaking – I can’t wait for the next one!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Christie says:

    This movie rocked. Four thumbs up from the Echeverris.

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago
  2. * SKILSN says:

    Add a couple more enthusiastic thumbs from me. Interesting that in many a movie series, it’s the second film that takes the darker, yet better, turn.

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago
  3. * Bryce says:

    Wow, that was a lot of thumbs! Yeah, for some reason, darker does sometimes seem to be better. However, I was sad to hear the other day that, while Christian Bale is returning, Christopher Nolan isn’t signed on for the next movie 😦

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago
  4. * Jess says:

    Eric took me to see if for my birthday and we loved it! But even more amazing than the movie was the fact that we found someone to watch William for the 4 hours that we would need to drive to the thearte, watch the movie and drive back. And he didn’t even cry when we left! I say that tops my movie present. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 12 months ago
  5. * Zugman says:

    Haha, it sounds like it was a double treat for you, Jess! Somehow, I don’t think William would have liked the movie very much 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 12 months ago


Leave a Reply

