Musings on Mormonism



Why didn’t anyone tell me?!

So, I know I said I’d talk about some relatively substantial things next time I get off my duff to write but, well, sometimes I talk big and make promises I won’t keep (like Barack Obama! Zing!).  So, I just stumbled upon the news that another X-Files movie is coming out in July. My first thought was “Huh?”, followed shortly by “Cool!” Yes, it did seem a little strange to me that another X-Files movie is being released in the near future, seemingly unannounced (although I’m rarely at a movie theater, and thus miss a lot of trailers, I’m sure) and so long after the show’s golden era (i.e. before Duchovny left and before the writing and storytelling got kinda stupid). I mean, I bet there’s a lot of punk kids today who’ve never even heard of the X-Files! But strange or not, I believe what I’ve read – fitting as the film’s subtitle is “I Want To Believe”, nyuk nyuk. Seriously, though, I really liked the X-Files before its decline, not to mention before my attention got wrapped up in other things, like college. I have many fond, if not tense and scary, memories during high school of watching X-Files on Sunday night when I should have been completing my procrastinated homework. Ah, the memories!

Interestingly, the movie reportedly is a “stand-alone story on the struggle between faith and science” rather than another chapter in the series’ unfolding alien mythology.  I have to say, one thing I always liked about the show was its open-minded approach to both science and faith, embodied in Mulder, the irrational believer, and Scully, the hard-nosed skeptic, and their evolving relationship as they investigated the unknown. Wow, that’s a lot like life, isn’t it? We’re all some combination of Mulder and Scully as we try to make sense of this thing we call mortality. See, I somehow managed to go deep despite an initially frivolous topic! 🙂

The article can be found here.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jess says:

    Hey Cuz! I love your thoughts on the X-Files. Sadly I don’t think I’ll be one of those who stands in line to be in the first group to see it. Not that I was with the first movie but I was at least excited about it unlike now. Glad you’re settling into DC.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

