Musings on Mormonism



“Without risk there is no faith”

“Without risk there is no faith. Faith is precisely the contradiction between the infinite passion of the individual’s awareness and the objective uncertainty. If I am capable of grasping God objectively, I do not believe, but precisely because I cannot do this I must believe.”

-Soren Kierkegaard

While I would love to discuss this very profound observation, I’m afraid it would just be a rambling between me and myself. Suffice it to say, I consider Kierkegaard to be one of the best kinds of intellectuals: one capable of incisive observation and abstraction without the stubborn aloofness towards the gamut of unquantifiable lived experiences of which everyday life is primarily composed. He represents, to me, a model of intellectual development – depth without detachment.

This is, admittedly, ironic for me to say, because this, my blog, has been quite the detached intellectual endeavor. Blogs are, by nature, fairly impersonal, although their intimacy can be greatly enhanced by focusing on people, rather than abstractions. Believe me, I would love to focus on people more if there simply were people in my life on which I could appropriately focus!

Leave a Reply

