Musings on Mormonism



Bryce’s Book Club, Part 1

In between my current work as a well-paid gofer, I’ve been starting a lot of good books lately (someday, I may even finish one). I’ve been giving the most attention to Rewriting History by Dick Morris, a long-time political advisor to the Clintons. It is a very interesting glimpse into Hillary Clinton behind the facade. Interestingly, even though Morris parted ways with the Clintons years ago and is no big fan of the Hillary movement, his book is not dripping with venom. Morris’ writing reflects measured fairness and keen observation, which speaks to his credibility in an industry where most pundits cannot bear to hide their vitriolic disdain for their favorite villains. This book actually reminds me of another famous expos√© of a powerful public figure who was revered yet shrouded in mystery: Dr. Li Zhisui’s The Private Life of Chairman Mao. An unusual and imperfect comparison, I know, but there it is.

One thing that I was not expecting when I began reading this book was to actually feel some pity for Hillary, not pity for the role of victimized career-woman and devoted mother which she tries to project, but pity for the creature she has become in the course of her political career. Unfortunately, politics tends to be dirty, dirty business, and while I do think Hillary Clinton has rolled in the mud quite willingly, it nevertheless saddens me that the political arena is such that she and so many people like her feel that to do so is the only way to succeed.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Mish says:

    Hahaha Bryce’s Book Club hahaha

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Vanessa says:

    So true. What good insight. Just the other day someone called me on my highly judgmental assessment of her political career in light of some personal choices she has made that I personally have extremely strong feeling about. I am trying to be more objective, even though she still isn’t my candidate of choice.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago
  3. * zugman says:

    Thanks for the comment! “Highly judgmental”, huh? I wonder, was that your phrase, or the other person’s? It seems that people tend to respect opinions as long as such opinions aren’t moralistic (that is to say, that they aren’t about some actual clear and reliable principle) and especially as long as they don’t introduce an alternative point of view. Now THAT’S tolerance!

    I do agree, though, that learning more about the objective substance of an issue only helps to bring credence to an otherwise sentimental opinion. Now don’t get me wrong – like you, I think, I typically form my opinions first and foremost as a matter of intuition, and I don’t view this as a bad thing necessarily; I believe that opinions based solely on reason have the potential to be just as flawed. However, I think that an opinion carries the most weight when it is supported by different kinds of evidence, reasoned and unreasoned. So basically, my sense for Hillary Clinton before reading this book was that I didn’t particularly like or trust her as a candidate, and now after learning a little more about the nitty-gritty details of her political career, I actually have some clear reasons to back up my initial impressions.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

