Musings on Mormonism



You Don’t Kick a Dead Dog

Notwithstanding all the points of policy and history on which the Republican candidates differ, they all seem to be united in at least one area: their disdain for Mitt Romney. Naturally, a public figure will always have views and actions which someone dislikes, but Romney seems to attract an inordinate amount of criticism, some of it smug and mean-spirited (à la McCain or Huckabee in Saturday’s debate), from all the candidates. For the record, I don’t know who I’m going to vote for, but Romney is certainly a contender in my book. Romney continues to receive jabs and cheap shots – such as Huckabee’s use of the classic Mormon smear about Satan and Jesus, or the apparently irresistible urge by the candidates (or even the moderator, Charles Gibson, last night, who I’d call likable but, like so many people in the media, partial to the political left) – to scandalize Romney’s record on abortion when they need to score a few quick and easy points, and this after he’s clearly and repeatedly explained himself on the issue, I think satisfactorily. I’m not saying that Romney’s the absolute perfect candidate, and everyone else is garbage, but I do think that the attacks he seems to be receiving from all sides indicate that he is viewed as a strong and viable presidential nominee and a real political threat. On my LDS mission in northern Virginia, I became acquainted with the phrase “you don’t kick a dead dog”, which I learned in reference to the criticism the Church receives (but appropriately pays little heed to), and basically means that an adversary only attacks those parties deemed to be real threats. I think this phrase is applicable in Romney’s case too – not because he happens to be Mormon, but because he is viewed as a threat by certain people. As a side note, I think the same can be said for the vocally anti-religious, such as Hitchens and Dawkins – religion presents a worldview which opposes and threatens their own. But that’s a topic for another time 😉

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * abu daoud says:

    Interesting article. I have just posted about the similarities between Islam and Mormonism and I invite you and your readers to read it and let me know what you think.

    Islam and Mormonism

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  2. * zugman says:

    Thanks for the comment! I agree, there are definite similarities between the two religions, particularly their agreement on the role of prophets and revelation. Although I take issue with some of that article’s interpretations (which I will comment on via your site), I do agree that Islam and Mormonism have much common ground. Notwithstanding the relatively chaotic state of Islam today, mixed as it is with power, politics, and culture in so many places, I definitely believe that God’s hand was in its formation.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Emily Ellsworth says:

    You know, I have to say that the GOP in general is really frustrating me right now. I mean, the conservatives really don’t have a voice in this race, do they?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  4. * zugman says:

    Oh come on, of course they have a voice – they have Huckabee!

    …yeah, Huckabee doesn’t quite do it for me either. Actually, I think McCain could be a great president, but that his record makes many conservatives nervous is quite understandable. It’ll be interesting to see how he courts the conservative base.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

