Musings on Mormonism



Do women ever direct films?

It dawned on me yesterday, as I was watching the closing credits of “An Inconvenient Truth” (which I actually found to be quite convincing), that I can’t think of a single prominent female film director in our country. Don’t women direct films? According to Wikipedia, the definitive source of all things true, they do. However, I barely recognized any of the names or film titles from their list (only a portion of whom are American). So let me revise my question: don’t any women become prominent film directors? I have to wonder what our films are missing out on by being directed primarily by men. Perhaps the abundance of trite and vulgar movies can be attributed to the fact that movies are primarily directed by men; perhaps a product becomes stale and mundane if it is consistently created from the same tired point of view. But beyond the effect of a male-overrepresentation, I wonder why it is that so few women hit it big in the movie industry. Hmmm…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Laurel says:

    Ha! Just read this post of yours. Having many friends and a hubby in the small-film world and such, it’s tough to break into the business as a woman simply because it is already so male-dominated. I mean we barely are seeing the emergence of prominent female writers (Tina Fey, and the writer of Juno who’s name I forgot.) But it’s a lot of the reason why we can see gorgeous actresses end up with men twice their age and half their attractiveness in movies. I agree though, that very few movies are really done from a truly female perspective, although a few directors have done quite a good job, but I think it would be interesting to see more female-directed films, though if they were really different the public wouldn’t accept them (at least right away) because we’re already so used to this male-dominated viewpoint. There’s lots of evidence to back this up so I don’t just sound like a neo-feminist, but I’m too tired to look it up right now. G-night!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  2. * zugman says:

    Thanks for your insights, Laurel! Yeah, I don’t doubt that your analysis is correct – the film industry is pretty much male-dominated, giving women limited voice beyond the roles they’re given to act. It’s really too bad and pretty ironic, as Hollywood touts itself as a beacon of all that is progressive and good. I also agree that women might have a hard time breaking into the industry if their brand of film doesn’t jive with what consumers are willing to pay for. Hm, a somewhat complex situation…

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
    • * ax2grind says:

      Easy! I’m a woman film director! Okay, I’m not famous, but we are out there!!!! That is a gooooood question and I’m glad you asked! Women were huge in the film industry at one point but then after 1934 the Hays Code kicked in and has been very damaging. Well, there are some pains in the a**es like me out there. Take a look at TCM sometime they have a whole series of films on women like Greta Garbo, Bette Davis, Joan Crawford, etc. These women did not take alot of crap from anyone.

      | Reply Posted 7 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

