Musings on Mormonism



The continuing evolution of my blog

It’s taken me a while to figure out what I ought to focus my blog on. Originally, I thought I would write primarily about psychology, since that is my undergraduate emphasis, with some religious and philosophical musings thrown in. However, as a believing and committed Latter-day Saint (aka a Mormon) who happens to be very interested in the social sciences and philosophy, I have since decided to turn things around, focusing on Mormonism with secondary emphasis on those topics. When it comes to the doctrines of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (aka the Mormon Church), there is no shortage of things to muse on. I have found these doctrines and principles to be deeper, more profound, and more compelling than those found in any other system of thought and belief I have encountered. I have no illusions about my biases in this blog; I admit up front that the things I write here are NOT neutral. However, I am absolutely convinced that intellectual inquiry and religious faith are not, of necessity, polar opposites, and I hope that my writings will reflect an honest attempt at faith without zealotry, and inquiry without insatiable skepticism.

Leave a Reply

