Musings on Mormonism



Some Musings

This is the first of several things I’ve been thinking about lately that I thought would be good to commit to writing.

1) Blog subject and content
As I’ve previously indicated, I am intrigued by the prospect of writing regularly in a blog, but am unsure of what exacty I want to write about. Just now it occurred to me that I ought to focus on psychology, which is what I am majoring in and happen to think a lot about. I believe that God has given each of us different gifts and expects us to use those gifts. However, He probably hopes we will concentrate on using those gifts He has deliberatey given us, rather than stubbornly try our hands at activities we are not so skilled at doing. I’m sure there’s nothing wrong with a little dabbling or even persistent efforts at improvement, but we should not ignore those things for which we have natural talent, because those are areas we are probably meant to do a lot of good in. Like many people, I feel like a Jack-of-all-trades, master-of-none; my interests are very broad, but my expertise in any of them is not very deep. For instance, I enjoy learning and talking about politics, but I’ve read enough political blogs to know that I couldn’t contribute much of real worth in an online discussion of politics because I just don’t have much talent, comparatively speaking. Economists might say those political bloggers have a comparative advantage over me. However, I DO know a thing or two about psychology or, more importantly, about people. This is something I’ve been learning about and thinking about all my life, and I don’t think that this has been so out of sheer coincidence. Rather, I believe God chose to give me a propensity for thinking about the inner self, mine and others’, as well as an interest in observing our varied behaviors. Thus, I will make the psyche – the spirit or soul according to the Greeks – the focus of my blog.

Leave a Reply

