Musings on Mormonism



American Music = Crappy

I just saw a commercial on TV for some upcoming music award show, some generic meaningless music popularity contest, and as the guest performers were listed, it dawned on me that none of them interested me in the slightest (with the near-exception of The Killers). Furthermore, as I thought on the bands I DO like, I realized: “Hey, I don’t like American music!” For instance, U2: Irish, Coldplay: British, Radiohead: Biritsh, Travis: Scottish. Even Rush is Canadian. I guess I can only speak on music in my genre of interest, rock/alternative (and to be honest, I’m still not sure what alternative is supposed to be), but having said that, I think American rock music these days is weak. Pitifully weak. It’s like American music consumers don’t value good rock music any more, just shameless R&B songs about hedonism and sappy pseduo-rock songs about – well, I really don’t know what, feeling sorry for yourself I guess. Now, to be fair, while I don’t like R&B, there are many people who do like it for some reason, and I respect their freedom to like music that I find mindless and carnally-oriented. The same goes for other genres I don’t like. But as for rock, there is something wrong. Of course, this observation about the dearth of good American rock makes me wonder what it is about the United Kingdom that produces such good music. I also wonder why the American market doesn’t demand better rock music. Hm.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * agirlwho says:

    It’s the gray skies and the parliament that lead to the kind of good rock music you are talking about, my friend. Actually, I have no idea, but I am with you on the state of American music. British music has almost always been better. Maybe it’s because they are open minded about the music that influences them, the Euro music scene is pretty awesome. That was something that struck me when I left Eastern Europe, we had WAY less access to world music tastes. American is stuck in a box of musical mediocrity that began with MTV. Or maybe it was simply marked by the advent of MTV. I won’t preach against it entirely, I watch it, but not really for the music. That’s sad too. I watch it for Laguna Beach. I know, shoot me in the head.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  2. * BLAH! says:

    how can you say that american rock is weak when all of the bands you mentioned are weak themselves. i like stuff like coldplay but its not real rock. and i think that the reason you people feel that us stuff sucks is because the media picks and chooses what they play. i will agree with you that the stuff that the media leaks through sucks, but that is not all that bands produce. you people probably havent even heard of slayer and what about disturbed, danzig, and nirvana.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  3. * zugman says:

    Yes, I’ve heard all of those bands, but I don’t care for any of them. It is true that “rock” is an incredibly broad and varied genre, and I’m sure there are really great American bands here and there which I haven’t heard yet, but as a whole, I do think American rock stinks, not just occasionally, but chronically. Of course, that’s just me. Obviously, if everyone had the same expectations as me, it wouldn’t be profitable for the music industry and bands to churn out this mediocre stuff. I think what American rock music is lacking most is actual MUSICIANS, the likes of the band members of Rush. Now THERE is a band that knows how to write and play music!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

